1000 Words per Minute! (update 1)

2 05 2009

festival_of_books

 

      Ever since I was in third grade I can remember being a slow reader. I was the slowest in my entire class. Even just a few months ago I was reading most material at the same speed I could say it out loud (200 words per minute).

      Then I realized just how much more I could take in if I didn’t have to sounds the words out in my hear one by one. How many more books could I read in a year?! How much more information could I take in and process towards self-development and writing my own material?!

      So I ordered “The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Speed Reading.” Not because I think I’m a complete idiot, or even a partial idiot, but because the book had good reviews and didn’t cost me much.

      A few months in and my comfortable reading speed is up to about 500 word per minute.

      So here’s the experiment:

      I want to be able to read 1000 words per minute by July 1st, 2009.

      That means doubling my current reading speed and keeping my comprehension in tow months. I had this written down as one of my “by 2010” goals, but seriously, I think I can do it in less time.

      If I don’t, at least you’ll have some funny stories to read about me trying. I’ll b posting back here in a few weeks time with another update, stay tuned.





I’ll Sleep When I Die (update 2)

2 05 2009

      I’ve been doing this 4-5 hours of sleep thing for four weeks now, and honestly, I haven’t noticed a fragment of a difference from my previous experience on 7-8 hours of sleep. In fact, if there’s been any change at all, they’ve been POSITIVE changes:

  1. I blast out of bed far more swiftly than I ever have.
  2. When I do go to sleep, I don’t toss and turn, I’m out fast.
  3. I am awake for an additional 3 to 4 hours each day!

      Seriously, its hard to see why I ever slept for 8 hours.

      At the same time, I have this odd feeling that this MUST come back and bite me at some point, everyone tells me it will and my entire life I’ve heard that we need a solid 7-9 hours of sleep per night to function at our best.

      Well, we’ll just have to see about that. If I end up developing permanent raccoon eyes or find myself hollucinating, it might be time for a nap :}.

      But UNITL THEN it seems like frankly… I’m getting more juice our of life by NOT SLEEPING.